Home > Awards & Achievements:


  • Autonomous Status has been conferred upon the college by Shivaji University and UGC in the year 2007.
  • College is Ranked#52 in 2015 Survey of India Today on "Best Engineering Institutions in India". WCE has improved ranking from #59 in 2 years.
  • Walchand College participated in the World Bank funded Government of India scheme, "TEQIP" (Technical Education Quality Improvement Program) Phase I project and received Second Rank all over India, out of 127 national institutes, in its program impact assessment survey in 2010.
  • Walchand College is Selected for TIFAC grant from Maharashtra Government for students from 2015-16 wherein 30 UG students will get scholarship of Rs. 10000/- pm for doing their final year project in Small Scale or Medium Scale industries near Sangli.
  • UGC granted extension of autonomous status to Walchand College for the second term of 6 years from 2014-15 to 2019-20 based on the recommendations of an Expert Committee of UGC, which visited our college in November 2014. Accreditation of most of the UG and PG programs has taken place in previous three cycles by NBA.

FACULTY AWARDS (in last 3 Years)

  • Dr. Parishwad has been honoured with "National Gandhian Innovation Awards – 2012" for Design and Development of 1 TR Vapour Adsorption Air Cooling System for Truck Cabin using Heat from Engine Exhaust. It also received the First Prize of Uniken Innovation Award – 2011 at College of Engineering, Pune.
  • Dr. P. J. Kulkarni, Deputy Director of the institute, received Best Teacher award at the state level by Govt. of Maharashtra in year 2012.
  • Dr. M. Y. Khire, Associate Professor in Mechanical Engg., received Best Teacher award at the state level by Govt. of Maharashtra in year 2012.
  • Dr. U. A.Dabade, Professor in Mechanical Engg., received "DST- FAST TRACK Young Scientiest Award" from DST- INDIA in 2012.
  • Dr B S Gawali, Professor and HoD in Mechanical Engg., received Consistent Contributers Award in HVAC Domain from ASHRAE in 2012.
  • Mrs. M.A. Shah, Asst. Professor in CSE Dept.,Received best presentation award at Doctoral Symposium of DEBS (IIT Mumbai) 2014.
  • Dr. D. B. Kulkarni, Professor in Info. Tech. Department, received Early Adopler Award ($1500) from TCPP of IEEE in 2014.
  • Dr.G.R.Munavalli, Professor in Info. Civil Engg., received S.V. Patwardhan prize for best paper published, Journal of Indian Water Works Association for 2014-15.
  • Dr. S. N. Tande, Professor in App.Mech, awarded "Leading Ccientists of the World 2012" and "The Cambridge Certificate - 2013" from International Biographical Centre, Cambridge, England.


  • Dr.N.G.Kulkarni, Assistant Professor awarded PhD from Nagoya University,Japan in the Year 2012.
  • Dr. S. U. Sapkal, received the Ph. D. degree on "Improved heuristics for manufacturing" from Jadavpur University, Kolkata in 2013
  • Dr.M.M.Waware, Asst. Professor in Electrical Engg., awarded Ph.D. in the year 2012, from I.I.T. Roorkee.
  • Dr.D.R.Patil, Associate. Professor in Electrical Engg., awarded PhD in the year 2012, from Shivaji University Kolhapur.
  • Dr.V.B.Dharmadhikari, Associate. Professor in Electronics Engg., awarded PhD in the year 2015, from Shivaji University Kolhapur.
  • Dr.B.G.Patil, Associate. Professor in Electronics Engg., awarded PhD in the year 2015, from Shivaji University Kolhapur.

STUDENTS AWARDS/ACHIEVEMENTS AT National Level (in last 3 Years)

  • Team “Aaryans” of WCE won 3 awards at National Level Competition “Efficycle 2012” organized by SAE India at Chandigarh.
  • Abhijeet Kanade and Ganesh Pawar, B.Tech Electronics received "Pat on the Back Award" for "Tire Pressure Monitoring System", from Hella India Pune 2014
  • Omkar Watave, Kunal Jagdale, Suyash Patil, Sumedh Nitnaware and Garima Karwa. (B.Tech Electronics) won First Prize for "NIRMAN FIS-Real Time Factory Information System" from John Deere, Pune in 2013-14
  • Nilesh Upadhye, Omkar Watve, Yogesh Bhosale and Dhananjay Dharne of B.Tech(Electronics) won First Prize e-Yantra contest 2013-14 of IIT Mumbai
  • Mr. Abhaysingh Mohite. from CSE-2010 Batch from WCE has Top Ranked in Maharashtra in MPSC-2015 Examination.
  • Harshwardhan Ronge with (AIR 151) and Aditya Shivshankar (AIR 371) from Mechanical Engineering while Rohit Sarode with (AIR 267) from Civil Engineering topped the 2015 IIT list.
  • Mr. Prem Potaabatti from B.Tech. (Mech.) received the N.D. Patil Award of ‘Best Player in Aquatics - 2014’ from Shivaji University, Kolhapur.
  • WCE Diploma Boys Cricket Team and Chess Team have won the zonal matches Jan. 2015.

In 1947, WCE was founded in Sangli with just over 60 students. Today, it has more than 4,000 students taking various courses in Engineering and Technology. We create opportunities not just for young minds to learn, but also for them to experience the fulfillment that comes from sharing this learning with others. At WCE, we are always focused on delivering education that will help create the leaders of tomorrow’s world – our students will not just be successful in their individual capacities, but will in turn, contribute to and nurture the world they live in.

Ajit Gulabchand
Chairman, Administrative Council.

© 2001–2015 of Walchand College of Engineering, Sangli. All rights reserved